top of page
  • Writer's pictureDarian Letkeman

Sourdough Discard Pop Tarts

Updated: Jul 17

These discard pop tarts are so easy to make and taste way better than any store-bought pastry. This recipe is super quick and easy, and best of all, the kids will love it!




sourdough poptarts


If you're like me, you love a good discard recipe so that you don't have to waste an ounce of your starter. These homemade toaster pastries use sourdough discard and are filled with a delicious filling of choice. I tend to opt to fill mine with a low-sugar jam, but let your imagination run wild with these! Add some peanut butter to create a PB&J pastry, or fill it with some homemade Nutella for something a little more decadent.


I have some great childhood memories of eating pop tarts at school with friends, swapping one hand pie with a friend so you could have two flavours. But now that I'm wiser about nutrition and what the effects of sugar can do to the body, they haven't made my grocery list for about 10 years now.


After researching and playing around, I found a recipe that works quite well as a pie crust. Initially, I tried excluding the vinegar, fearing it would disrupt the natural yeast in the sourdough, but the dough wasn't quite as flakey as I wanted. Some recipes I saw called for as much as a whole tablespoon, but that gave the dough a really sour and acidic taste. You can opt for either apple cider vinegar or white vinegar, using the same volume for each.

**Fun fact: I discovered in my research that vinegar is included in pastries because the acidity helps to relax the gluten and make the dough more tender.


My toddler loved these, and I felt good about feeding them to her because of the wholesome ingredient list. I love these too because the sourdough crust tones down the sweetness of the jam, making a perfect on-the-go breakfast or bedtime snack.





recipe card

104 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page