top of page
  • Writer's pictureDarian Letkeman

Adapting Permaculture in My Urban Space

Ladybug on white flower.

Permaculture, originating from the terms permanent and agriculture, is a philosophy for a sustainable and holistic approach to farming. The concept of permaculture happens in natural ecosystems every day since they are self-maintaining. But it is a practice that everyone can incorporate into their own landscapes, whether you have 20 sq ft of land or 20 acres. By observing nature, we can incorporate permaculture principles into our gardens and lawns to build a sustainable and regenerative ecosystem.


In my urban plot, I need to be a little creative in how I can create permaculture since I don't have the luxury of planting a whole forest with hundreds of species of plants and animals. In fact, one might argue creating permaculture in the city is challenging since it is typically such an intensely cultivated space. Essentially, my goal is to reduce my water needs, limit maintenance, support biodiversity, and create a space my family enjoys.



Backyard with green lawn.


We honestly have a very bare-bones backyard; just a big square of Kentucky bluegrass and one apple tree. The yard is big and great for our two big dogs and a toddler, but it doesn't offer much (or anything, really) in the way of biodiversity. Since this photo was taken, I've sold that little greenhouse and built some brand new raised garden beds, as well as added a gravel pad to protect the grass from our firepit. But otherwise, it's still just grass.


This summer is going to be a major overhaul in how I tackle our space. I'm going to try and add lots of diversity while keeping an open space for my dogs and toddlers to run around in. I've been spending lots of time researching how to incorporate permaculture into an urban space and I was surprised and relieved at what I read. I was imagining overhauling my lawn and planting it all to native wildflowers and getting rid of my beloved peonies for something more 'rustic'. Thankfully, I learned I don't have to give up my tame flowers or my soft lawn grass.


The main steps I'm taking to start my path toward sustainable permaculture are

  1. Carefully planning my garden to consider companion plants, cover crops, and mixed cropping to improve soil health and reduce the need for conventional fertilizers.

  2. Collecting rainwater and using a drip line to reduce the amount that we have to water our lawn using our sprinkler system. Rainwater is free so why waste it?

  3. Planting a guild around my tree. A guild is a niche ecosystem full of mutually beneficial organisms that work together to survive and thrive. I'll be sowing plants that all serve a different beneficial purpose to the soil and each other, such as nitrogen fixer, miner, and ground cover.


Swiss chard growing in garden.

This won't be a quick or easy journey, and knowing me I'll change my mind 87 times. But I think it's important to add some sustainable practices, even to our city lawns, to help protect the birds and pollinators, and increase the overall health of our soil. I'll definitely continue to record and document my journey, but in the meantime, I'd love to hear how you've added permaculture to your life!

3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page